Phoenix Cup 2017

This year the 2017 PHOENIX CUP will be held at Murrayshall Hotel and Golf, Perthshire on 4th, 5th & 6th September.

As previous years the team has been selected by the TRUSTEES and past captains, as everyone will know this is a very popular event with disabled golfers throughout the UK. British Inclusive Golf, like to get a variation of disabilities and integrate people from all parts of the UK.

The captain in 2017 is Mr. Ian Halliwell who has kindly accepted to do a second year due to unforeseen circumstances, he will be ably assisted by Mr. Paul Weymes as Vice-captain who will take over as Captain for 2019 competition as the Phoenix Cup is going to every 2 years after Murrayshall.

The BIG Team (British Inclusive Golf):
Paul Weymes 9 Newcastle – Vice Captain
Ian Slowther 16 Newcastle
Tony Stewart 19 North Shields
Mike Oxley 21 Birkenhead
Dave Standing 11 Wigan
Norman Roberts 20 Wigan
John Trumble 20 Leigh
John Riordan 14 Dewsbury
Billy Lloyd 20 Huddersfield
Roger Hurcombe 21 East Sussex
Mike Jones 12 Cwmbran
Anthony Kendal 21 Huddersfield
Kevin Booth 14 Huddersfield

The SDGP Team (Scottish Disability Golf Partnership):
Jim Thomson 22 Isle of Cumbrae – Captain
John Pennycott 15 Isle of Arran – Vice Captain
Alan Robertson 7 Stirling – Vice Captain
Derek Milne 10 Upper Largo
Robert Inness 24 Dumfries
Adam Storrie 11 Fauldhouse
Shawn Beazley 29 Springfield
Kerr Scott 16 Busby
Bob Drysdale 19 Tayport
Kenny Morrison 11 Isle of Harris
Donna Hawkins 36 Toronto
Paul Ellison 5 St Andrews
Hugh Clifford 14

The teams will play 3 days of golf as follows:

Day 1 – Foursomes Matchplay – Half Combined Handicaps with the Lowest combined handicap to concede strokes based on 100% of the difference
Day 2 – Greensomes Matchplay – Half Combined Handicaps with the Lowest combined handicap to concede strokes based on 100% of the difference
Day 3 – 4 Betterball Matchplay – Lowest handicap to concede strokes to the other three players based on 90% of the difference.

First Team to 9.5 points will be deemed the winners, in the event of a tie 9 – 9 previous winners will retain the trophy.

History so far:

2014 Roxburghe Hall – Kelso BIG 8.5 SDGP 6.5 BIG Win
2015 Cardrona Hotel – Peebles – BIG 8 SDGP 7 BIG Win
2016 Linden Hall – Morpeth – BIG 7.5 SDGP 7.5 BIG Retain
2017 Murrayshall – Perth –

Good Luck to both teams and as you can all see each year has been a close affair and nothing suggests that this year will be any different, except we have introduced an extra pair to each day making 18 points available and not 15 as in previous encounters.

Leave a Reply

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.